Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR-15 / M-16 Retro Forum
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/8/2024 5:00:00 PM EDT
I've seen the various threads here on 601 clones and acquired the proper Moeller Green Zinc Phosphate spray paint for the furniture.  My build is an H&R 601 with several small parts being updated for the proper 601 parts.  However, I am conflicted on the furniture to paint for this build.  Do I use the newly manufactured H&R furniture to paint, or do I go with a well-used (but no breaks or cracks), set of vintage furniture that has mottling, scars and "character" for painting?
Link Posted: 5/8/2024 9:27:11 PM EDT
[#1]
Shooter’s preference honestly
Link Posted: 5/8/2024 9:33:49 PM EDT
[#2]
Is the "mottling" an artifact of aging furniture sets, or was it like that even when it was originally made?

If the latter is true, which AR models and vintage had the mottled black furniture?

Lastly, I am not experienced in painting AR parts...  if I use the worn set, I assume it'll kinda look crappy with a fresh coat of paint on it with battle scars and wear hidden by it...  I assume that would really only be a good option if the rest of the rifle had a battle-worn look to it and I scrub a bit on the used, painted handguards to wear off some of the freshly painted look.
Link Posted: 5/8/2024 10:25:08 PM EDT
[#3]
Mottling is mostly the age showing, but it seems like most mottled parts are the earlier black plastic 1964-1967 or 1968-ish in my experience. They continued to develop the composite and the later stuff doesn't really do that from what i have seen.

Someone with more experience in that specific regard may chime in. My interest largely concerns the changes to the internals and externals of the rifle and other stuff like that, not necessarily the materials themselves
Link Posted: 5/9/2024 1:49:58 PM EDT
[#4]