Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 5/28/2023 5:31:58 PM EDT
[Last Edit: disco_jon75]
I have a class date in July with a Part 121 carrier flying mostly 737 classics (with upgrade training to NGs).  A friend has given me 737 gouge from a competing airline (all Boeing standard stuff, flows, etc).  I have been flying MQ-9s and MQ-1s for the past two decades.  My plan is to know the ops limits and memory items when I show up... but is there a flight sim that will let me practice flows?  X-plane?  MSFS?

I'm happy for any advice folks have.

Edit: Made it through clean! 737 Classic and -800 differences training complete. IOE next.
Link Posted: 5/28/2023 7:50:29 PM EDT
[#1]
Honestly, put your efforts elsewhere.

Learn the flows, limitations, and memory items. If you’re really jonesing to do something, buy a paper tiger on eBay.
Link Posted: 5/28/2023 10:32:06 PM EDT
[#2]
X-Plane 11 and the Zibo 737-800 mod are your best and lowest cost option.
The Zibo mod is free, updated often, and very well done. Very high level of realistic systems and flight model.
There's also the MSFS route but that's more expensive since you'll be buying the PMDG 737 add-ons.
The PMDG 737-600 is $35ish. The 700/800 is $70ish.
PMDG has also set a gold standard in realism.
I have both and enjoy both for different reasons.
After a 25 year airline/corporate career, my work now is still in aviation but I no longer get any real stick wiggle time.
My solution has been to build a home flight simulator. It wasn't cheap but now I can keep my pilot juices flowing and stay fresh on automation and procedural flows.
Link Posted: 5/28/2023 10:59:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Know the ops limits and memory items as you mentioned.
The sim at your company will have company procedures, including flows.

If you can get those, look at those too.

I would not worry about the sim, you will do procedural trainers first to get flows and some abnormals maybe.